National Film Awards Winners 2019


The much awaited results of the most prominent film awards in the country has been announced. The 66th National Film Awards which were announced today after a 3 month delay due to the Lok Sabha Elections announced a total of 31 awards in the feature film and 23 awards in the non- feature film category.

Vicky Kaushal’s Uri won the most awards bagging 4 namely – Best Director, Best Actor, Best Background Music and Best Sound Design.

The critically-acclaimed ‘Andhadhun’ won the award for Best Hindi Film as well as Best Adapted Screenplay whereas the National Award for Best Feature Film went to ‘Hellaro’ , a Gujarati film. Keerthy Suresh for her performance in the Telugu film ‘Mahanati’ took home the National Award for Best Actress.

The supporting actor and actress awards for best performances were won by Swanand Kirkire for ‘Chumbak’ and Surekha Sikri  for ‘Badhaai Ho’.

Here’s the list of the complete winners of National Film Awards -2019

Feature Films Category –

Best Feature Film: ‘Hellaro’

Best Director: Aditya Dhar

Best Actor: Vicky Kaushal, Ayushmann Khurrana

Best Actress: Keerthy Suresh

Best Music Direction: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for ‘Padmaavat’

Best Supporting Actress: Surekha Sikri for ‘Badhaai Ho’

Best Supporting Actor: Swanand Kirkire for Marathi film ‘Chumbak’

Best Playback Singer(Male): Arijit Singh for ‘Binte Dil Misriya Mein’ from ‘Padmaavat’

Best Playback Singer (Female): Bindhu Malini for Kannada film ‘Nathicharami’

Best Child Artist:

P V Rohith for Ondalla Eradalla(Kannada)

Sameep Singh for Harjeeta(Punjabi)

Talha Arshad Reshi for Hamid(Urdu)

Shrinivas Pokale for Naal(Marathi)

Sound Designer: Biswadeep Chatterjee for ‘Uri’

Best Cinematographer: MG Radhakrishnan for ‘Olu’

Best Lyrics: Manjunatha S for ‘Maayavi Manave’ from ‘Nathicharami’ (Kannada)

Best Screenplay: Rahul Ravindran for Telugu film ‘Chi Arjun La Sow’

Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: ‘Badhaai Ho’

Best Film on a Social Issue: ‘Padman’

Best Bengali Film: ‘Ek Je Chhilo Raja’

Best Telugu Film: ‘Mahanati’

Best Tamil Film: ‘Baaram’

Best Rajasthani film: ‘Turtle’ directed by Dinesh Yadav

Best Malayalam Film: ‘Sudani from Nigeria’

Best Assamese film: ‘Bulbul Can Sing’

Best Marathi Film: ‘Bhonga’

Best Kannada Film: ‘Nathicharami’

Best Garo film: ‘Ma’ama’

Best Background Music: Shashwat Sachdev for ‘Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Sound Design: ‘Uri’

Best Action Direction (Stunt Choreography): Vikram More and Anbu Ariv for ‘KGF’ (Kannada)

Non- Feature Film Category

Best Non-Feature film: ‘Son Rise’ and ‘The Secret Life of Frogs’

Best Short Film: ‘Kasab’

Best Film on Social Issues: ‘Taala Te Kunjee’

Best Educational Film: ‘Sarala Virala’

Best Film on Sports: ‘Swimming through the Darkness’

Best Debut Film: ‘Feluda: 50 Years of Ray’s Detective’

Best Arts and Culture Film: ‘Bunkar: The Last of The Varanasi Weavers’

Best Science & Technology Film: ‘G.D Naidu: The Edison of India’

Best Environmental Film: ‘The World’s Most Famous Tiger’

Best Promotional Film: ‘Rediscovering Jalam’

Best Film on Science and Technology: ‘GD Naidu: The Edison of India’

New awards were also instituted such as most film friendly state which was being won by Uttarakhand.

Although no clarification is given as to when these awards would be presented while the results were being announced by jury head Rahul Rawail.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here